top of page

New & Returning City Council Members Sworn In

New and returning members to the Newton City Council were sworn in at the monthly council meeting Tueday evening.

City Manager Donnie Meek informed the council of the city's current financial status and projection as well as the effects of increasing inflation and interest rates.

James Bean, Joni Miller and Dusty Spivey were all sworn in and began their new term as council members. Incumbent John Jefferson was replaced on the council by Spivey.

The council voted to approve the construction of a water tower to serve the east side of Newton and would double the water holding capacity of the city.

The council concluded the night by going into executive session for a budget workshop.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page